Skip to content


“King Animal”, the first collection of all-new material in 16 years, and first since the group reunited in 2010, from reunited grunge legendsSOUNDGARDEN, is available for streaming in its entirety on iTunes. The CD will be released on November 13 via Tom Whalley‘s new record label, a partnership between his Seven Four Entertainment and Republic Records.

Deluxe versions of “King Animal” include a box set, a deluxe CD, iTunesdeluxe and 180-gram double vinyl. Many of the deluxe editions include album track demos recorded in singer Chris Cornell‘s home studio.

For details of the “King Animal” deluxe versions, visit

“King Animal” track listing:

01. Been Away Too Long
02. Non-State Actor
03. By Crooked Steps
04. A Thousand Days Before
05. Blood On The Valley Floor
06. Bones Of Birds
07. Taree
08. Attrition
09. Black Saturday
10. Halfway There
11. Worse Dreams
12. Eyelid’s Mouth
13. Rowing

Drummer Matt Cameron told The Pulse Of Radio two things that he thinks made SOUNDGARDEN special then and now: “In our scene up here in the Northwest in the ’80s and ’90s, we were sometimes considered to be theRUSH of Seattle, just because we could sort of play our instruments maybe better than most bands. [laughs] We never really tried to flaunt any musical chops, but we always had pretty diverse tastes. We had a lot of really cool influences amongst ourselves that we tried to infuse in the music.”

The first single from the disc is called “Been Away Too Long”.

Cornell told OnstageWeb that the track is literally about the band’s reunion, explaining, “It means that a group, in this case personified bySOUNDGARDEN, has been away and the length of that away time has suddenly become maybe overextended. So been away too long, like thank God we’re back now. It seems like it might have been a little bit too long for us to be gone.”

The vocalist added that he was surprised that SOUNDGARDEN seems poised to once again fill a void for “real” rock music, saying, “I always expected that after we broke up or even maybe before we broke up that there should be or would be some very vital scene, numerous interesting rock bands that are kind of taking the history of rock music and making it their own.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: