Skip to content


“Jekyll & Hyde”, the first video from SIX HOUR SUNDOWN, the U.K.-based rock band fronted by Lauren Harris — daughter of legendary IRON MAIDEN bassist Steve Harris — can be seen below. The track was recently released as a single and is available on iTunes.

Formed in late 2009, SIX HOUR SUNDOWN was born from a desire of like-minded friends (and experienced musicians) to get back to the heart of why they wanted to make music in the first place.

According to a press release, SIX HOUR SUNDOWN “blurs the boundaries of musical genres with edgy modern rock riffs, driven by a solid rhythm section and topped off by a contemporary melody lines, delivered by a vocalist who puts her heart on the line with every performance.”

SIX HOUR SUNDOWN creates music that takes influences from bands as diverse as FOO FIGHTERS, 30 SECONDS TO MARS and VELVET REVOLVER but at all times keeping its unique vision intact.


Lauren Harris – Vocals
Tom Gentry – Guitar
James Bennett – Guitar
Mitch Witham – Bass
Olly Smith – Drums

When asked why she decided to launch a band after touring and releasing an album under her own name, Lauren told Planetmosh, “It kind of turned into a band when I was out as a solo artist anyway, because all of us became so close and we started writing songs together and stuff, and then we decided to drop the name completely and perform properly as a band. . . I’m not the only one in the band . . . so we just wanted to make it a bit more equal, and yeah, that’s it, really.”

Regarding the origins of the name SIX HOUR SUNDOWN, Lauren said, “We were talking amongst friends and just laughing and having a drink and stuff, and you know, when somebody says, ‘Oh, I fancy a drink,’ and it’s like one o’clock in the afternoon or something, and you’re like, ‘Really, you’re going to start drinking now?’ Then someone said, ‘It’s five o’clock somewhere in the world.’ . . . We went for six, because six is a cooler number, and six is my birthday, and it kind of led on from there — six hour sundown.

On the topic of the biggest difference between SIX HOUR SUNDOWN and the LAUREN HARRIS band, the singer said, “[SIX HOUR SUNDOWN is] much more current — the songs are more current. What we were doing before was almost a different genre, really. I think now it’s a lot more rocky, more melodic rock, whereas before it was much more pop-orientated rock, so I think that’s really the main difference, and of course, now there’s a band feel to it, which I think gives it a completely different feel anyway.”

“Kill The Light”, a brand new song from the Italian rock/metal band LACUNA COIL, can be seen streamed on the group’s Facebook page. The track comes off LACUNA COIL‘s forthcoming album, “Dark Adrenaline”, which will be released in North America on January 24, 2012 via Century Media Records. Produced by the acclaimed Don Gilmore (LINKIN PARK, BULLET FOR MY VALENTINE), the CD promises to deliver the melodic, sensual, metallic rush for which the band has come to be known.

Fans both old and new will have a variety of options to choose from, as “Dark Adrenaline” will be released in numerous formats, including standard-edition CD and vinyl, deluxe edition digipak with a bonus DVD, sticker, poster and guitar pick and as an iTunes LP with expanded packaging, five bonus audio tracks and video. The Metal Club edition will feature exclusive artwork designed by the band and will be limited to 3,000 units. The Hastings edition will feature a bonus 10-track LACUNA COIL sampler, and the Amazon digital edition comes with a free five-track sampler. Finally, for true fans of the band, is the “Darkest Adrenaline” box set, which includes both the digipak and vinyl versions of the album along with a hardcover photo book, a LACUNA COIL custom syringe pen and ink, a lyric pad, signed lithographs created by the band and more, all housed in a LACUNA COIL medical box. This box set is limited to 500 pieces and is available exclusively through CM Distro.

“Dark Adrenaline” track listing:

01. Trip The Darkness
02. Against You
03. Kill The Light
04. Give Me Something More
05. Upsidedown
06. End Of Time
07. I Don’t Believe In Tomorrow
08. Intoxicated
09. The Army Inside
10. Losing My Religion
11. Fire
12. My Spirit

In a recent interview with Revolver magazine, LACUNA COIL singer Cristina Scabbia stated about “Dark Adrenaline”, “I really feel that it is really, really a good album with good songs. I think that it totally captures the essence of LACUNA COIL because it’s definitely a mixture of our roots and something completely new. We never repeated ourself with any album, but this one, it’s a perfect balance between the old stuff and the new. And the new stuff, it’s more obscure than the usual. It’s definitely heavier — the sound is way heavier than we did before. A lot of people will be surprised. I think so. . . I believe that, you know, it’s something that they don’t really expect from us. They probably expect us to go, I don’t know, more melodic and mellow and actually this is not the direction we are taking. [Laughs] We’re kind of getting heavier while everybody else is getting mellower. [Laughs]”

When asked if she and her bandmates had specific aims when they went into the studio, Cristina said, “No, not really, because I think that when you are writing songs, it’s not about what you want to achieve. You just go with the flow and you just like what you hear. And if you like something, you just, like, work on it. I don’t think it would make sense for us just to think about a song or like, Oh, the album is going to sound like that. That wouldn’t be honest and that wouldn’t be hard, you know? Of course, you kind of know what you want to do, just because you know that’s your taste, but you don’t really know what’s gonna be the final result. You just, you know, put down layers and layers and layers and layers, and then you just hear the result at the very end. Actually, after the mixing you’re just like, Oh, wow! [Laughs] It’s hard to see things, you know. You just kind of draw the image of what you think it’s gonna be, but you don’t really know what’s gonna be in the end.”

Asif Salam of conducted an interview with AMARANTHE members Olof Mörck and Elize Ryd on Decemebr 12, 2011 at The Borderline in London, England. You can now watch the chat below.

AMARANTHE‘s self-titled debut album was released in Europe on April 13 via Spinefarm Records.

Ryd was selected to fill the female singer spot on KAMELOT‘s recent European, South American and North American tours.

Elize previously performed with KAMELOT on last year’s “Summer Pandemonium Tour” and the band’s European trek in April/May 2010.


* Olof Mörck (NIGHTRAGE, DRAGONLAND) – Guitar, Keyboards
* Jake E (ex-DREAM EVIL, DREAMLAND) – Clean Vocals
* Andy Solveström (WITHIN Y, EVILDOER, CIPHER SYSTEM) – Screams
* Morten Lowe Sorensen (THE ARCANE ORDER, SUBMISSION) – Drums
* Johan Andreassen (ex-ENGEL) – Bass
* Elize Ryd – Female Vocals

AMARANTHE‘s “Amaranthine” video can be seen below. The clip was once again helmed by director Patric Ullaeus of Revolver Film Company, who has previously worked with DIMMU BORGIR, LACUNA COIL, IN FLAMES, SONIC SYNDICATE and KAMELOT, among others.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: