Skip to content


UK heavy metal pioneers DIAMOND HEAD have been added to Sonisphere Knebworth which takes place July 8th – 10th for the biggest and most exciting show of their thirty-five year career. Quite fittingly, the band have been confirmed to open for the Big Four – METALLICA, SLAYER, MEGADETH and ANTHRAX – on Friday, July 8th. The bands made metal history at Sonisphere Bulgaria last year summer when they chose Diamond Head’s ‘Am I Evil’ to jam with all seventeen members, a testament to what a unifying force their music is. Founding member and guitarist Brian Tatler says of the upcoming appearance: “Diamond Head have been given the fantastic opportunity of opening for the BIG 4 at this years Sonisphere festival, Knebworth Friday, July 8th. This will be Diamond Head’s biggest ever show and myself and the other band members are very excited and looking forward to what will be an historic event. Knebworth is one of those venues you only dream of playing. I saw LED ZEPPELIN there in 1979 and never imagined that one day I would be on that stage, it proves the saying ‘anything is possible’! It also means I get to see my friends in Metallica and Megadeth once again which is always fun; I owe both Lars Ulrich and Dave Mustaine a beer.”

“There is a really good vibe in the band at the moment,” says Lars Ulrich about METALLICA’s recent return home from their Death Magnetic world tour. “Previously, Metallica would hang us by the throat when we came home from a mammoth world tour, but this time it’s different. Therefore it does not appear to be a long time before we start work on a new album. I think we’ll be ready in March and April – when the creative process reaches a boil we’ll go into the studio.” “We really enjoy it now,” he adds about the mood in Metallica. “It has helped in our relationship that we all have families and that we have children who work well together. There were some bad years when we never really talked together, we just hopped in a vodka bottle and went out to look for ladies. It meant we did not share our feelings with each other. Today we talk a lot about our children and our families, and it has helped that we have something else to talk about than what setlist is tonight.” About the band’s 30th anniversary Ulrich remarks: “When I look back, I am most proud that we have actually survived what we have lived through the last 30 years and has come unscathed through in a way that we currently act as a whole and as human beings and fathers.” The entire interview in Danish can be found at

ROCKSTAR ENERGY DRINK MAYHEM FESTIVAL is swiftly becoming the heavy music fans’ summertime rite of passage. The 4th annual summertime ‘juggernaut’ announces the 2011 line-up with DISTURBED, GODSMACK and MEGADETH, joined by MACHINE HEAD, IN FLAMES, TRIVIUM, and many more artists. The tour will make a 26 date trek across the country beginning on July 9th at the San Manuel Amphitheater in San Bernardino, California. Tour dates: July 9 – San Manuel Amphitheater – San Bernardino, CA. 10 – Shoreline Amphitheatre – Mountain View, CA. 12 – White River Amphitheatre – Auburn, WA. 13 – Idaho Center Amphitheater – Nampa, ID. 15 – Desert Sky Pavilion – Phoenix, AZ. 16 – Hard Rock Casino Albuquerque Presents The Pavilion – Albuquerque, NM. 17 – Comfort Dental Amphitheater – Englewood, CO. 19 – Verizon Wireless Amphitheater – Maryland Heights, MO. 20 – Riverbend Music Center – Cincinnati, OH. 22 – Comcast Center – Mansfield, MA. 23 – Parc Jean-Drapeau – (Heavy MTL) – Montreal, QC. 24 – Comcast Theater – Hartford, CT. 27 – PNC Bank Arts Center – Holmdel, NJ. 29 – First Niagara Pavilion – Burgettstown, PA. 30 – Jiffy Lube Live – Bristow, VA. 31 – Susquehanna Bank Center – Camden, NJ. August 2 – Virginia Beach Amphitheater – Virginia Beach, VA. 3 – Time Warner Cable Music Pavilion at Walnut Creek – Raleigh, NC. 5 – First Midwest Bank Amphitheatre – Tinley Park, IL. 6 – DTE Energy Music Theatre – Clarkston, MI. 7 – Verizon Wireless Music Center – Noblesville, IN. 9 – Zoo Amphitheatre – Oklahoma City, OK. 10 – Gexa Energy Pavilion – Dallas, TX. 12 – Aaron’s Amphitheatre at Lakewood – Atlanta, GA. 13 – 1-800-ASK-GARY Amphitheatre – Tampa, FL. 14 – Cruzan Amphitheatre – West Palm Beach, FL.

WHITESNAKE have added a number of live dates to their 2011 tour schedule in support of their new album Forevermore, due out via Frontiers Records on March 25th in Europe and March 29th in North America. May 14 – Columbia, MD – M3 Festival – Merriweather. 20 – Biloxi, MS – Hard Rock Biloxi. June 2 – Moscow, Russia – Megasport Arena. 4 – St. Petersburg, Russia – Icearena. 8 – Oslo, Norway – Sentrum Scene. 10 – Solvesborg, Sweden – Sweden Rock Festival. 13 – Newcastle, UK – City Hall. 14 – Glasgow, UK – Clyde Auditorium. 16 – Wolverhampton, UK – Civic. 17 – Manchester, UK – Apollo. 19 – Bournemouth, UK – BIC. 20 – London, UK – Hammersmith Apollo. 22 – Milano, Italy – Gods of Metal. 25 – Dessel, Belgium – Graspop Metal Meeting. 27 – Munich, Germany – Zenith. 28 – Prague, Czech Republic – Saska Arena. 29 – Vienna, Austria – Stadthalle. July 1 – Belgrade, Serbia – Arena. 3 – Bucharest, Romania – Romexpo. 8 – Sofia, Bulgaria – Akademik Stadium. 10 – Istanbul, Turkey – Kazlicesme Festival Site. Forevermore will be available in the following formats: regular CD, limited CD/DVD, double vinyl and limited box set featuring the double vinyl, CD, DVD and lithograph. Forevermore will be released in Japan via Warner Music Japan on March 9th. The first pressing includes a poster and the bonus track ‘Whipping Boy Blues’ (Swamp Mix). Their 11th studio album, Forevermore, was recorded, produced and mixed by Coverdale, guitarist Doug Aldrich and Michael McIntyre at Snakebyte Studios and Grumblenott Studios & Villas in Lake Tahoe, Nevada, with additional work at Casa Dala, Sherman Oaks, CA. Forevermore tracklisting: ‘Steal Your Heart Away’ ‘All Out Of Luck’ ‘Love Will Set You Free’ ‘Easier Said Than Done’ ‘Tell Me How’ ‘I Need You (Shine A Light)’ ‘One Of These Days’ ‘Love And Treat Me Right’ ‘Dogs In The Street’ ‘Fare Thee Well’ ‘Whipping Boy Blues’ ‘My Evil Ways’ ‘Forevermore’.

MIKE TRAMP & THE ROCK ‘N’ ROLL CIRCUZ, the new project led by WHITE LION singer Mike Tramp, will release its second album, “Stand Your Ground”, on March 28 via Target Records. Mike wrote all the songs on the CD, which was recorded almost live at Medley Studios in Copenhagen with Søren Andersen and Mike Tramp as producers. The album was mixed by Jacob Hansen (VOLBEAT, RAUNCHY, THE STORM, SURFACT). The cover artwork (see below) was created by Karsten Sand (VOLBEAT).

A teaser for the album can be viewed below. Also available is an interview with Tramp and Søren Andersen conducted by TC Electronic.

“Stand Your Ground” track listing:

01. Don’t Let Them Put It On You
02. Alright By Me
03. Distance
04. Gotta Get Away
05. Straight From The Look In My Eyes
06. Got Me Crazy
07. Wish You Well
08. World Is Changing
09. Prettiest Thing
10. Say What You Will
11. The Soldier Never Started A War


Mike Tramp – Lead Vocals, Guitar
Claus Langeskov -Bass
Søren Andersen – Guitar
Morten Hellborn – Drums
Emily Garriock – Vocals, Keyboards

For more information, go to


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: