Skip to content




“Hang On, Big Brother”, the new video from PINNICK GALES PRIDGEN, can be seen below. The song comes off the band’s self-titled debut album, which will be released on February 12 via Magna Carta.

It’s often been said that three-piece bands are the most expressive and most balanced musical units known to the rock world. CREAMTHE JIMI HENDRIX EXPERIENCERUSHTHE POLICEPRIMUS… These legendary acts struck upon the correct ratio of musicianship and progressive songwriting by exploring uncharted musical territories while highlighting the individual talents within their collective ranks.

Now Magna Carta Records unveils PINNICK GALES PRIDGEN, a visionary power trio (emphasis on power) and a supergroup to boot, which is sure to take its rightful place in rock’s hallowed halls.

Composed of bassist/vocalist Doug “dUg” Pinnick of the progressive metal band KING’S X, southpaw blues-rock guitarist Eric Gales (LAURYN HILL) and ambitious ambidextrous drummer and former THE MARS VOLTAmember Thomas PridgenPINNICK GALES PRIDGEN unites three versatile artists, who demand, as much as share, the musical spotlight.

On the band’s debut, each member of PINNICK GALES PRIDGEN infuses the material with his own set of musical influences, transforming his individual instrument into a lead instrument. The absolutely slamming musicianship frames the recognizable melodies of these songs and catapults the music into the realms of psychedelic blues, hard rock, and progressive soul/R&B.

“This record is three guys, with music in us, who said, ‘Let’s go for it,'” says Pinnick. “It was built upon raw energy.”

Produced by Mike VarneyPINNICK GALES PRIDGEN‘s debut contains all the stinging bite and all-out sonic boom of KING’S XTHE MARS VOLTAand the ERIC GALES BAND. In addition, fans of artists as far ranging asJimi HendrixCREAMLIVING COLOURStevie Ray VaughanTOOL,THE WHOStevie Wonder and LIQUID TENSION EXPERIMENT might find something meaningful in these meaty, extended tracks.

PINNICK GALES PRIDGEN show some of their influences with their brilliant version of seminal power trio CREAM‘s “Sunshine Of Your Love”Pinnicksays, “Our version has a different vibe: it’s tuned down, real low.”

“I think the record has a combination of all of the good things about our playing,” says Pridgen.

“This is just colossal,” Gales concludes. “This is just some slammin’ [stuff]. When you put a project out like this, man, people will want to hear that [material] live. I know I would.”

“Pinnick Gales Pridgen” track listing:

01. Collateral Damage
02. Angels And Aliens
03. For Jasmine
04. Hang On, Big Brother
05. Wishing Well
06. Hate Crime
07. Lascivious
08. Black Jeans
09. Sunshine Of Your Love
10. Been So High (The Only Place To Go Is Down)
11. Me And You
12. The Greatest Love
13. Frightening


Doug “dUg” Pinnick (KING’S X) – Bass and Vocals
Eric Gales (ERIC GALES BAND, LAURYN HILL) – Guitar and Vocals
Thomas Pridgen (THE MARS VOLTA) – Drums

Check out audio samples at this location.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: