Skip to content

“The Covering”, the much-anticipated covers album from Christian hard rockers STRYPER, will tentatively be released on February 1, 2011

The band has already released its cover versions of BLACK SABBATH‘s “Heaven And Hell” and KANSAS“Carry On Wayward Son”, which are available for download from iTunes.
“The Covering”, produced by frontman Michael Sweet, will be unlike any previous STRYPER recording in that it’s a collection of cover songs from bands that inspired them and helped to shape their sound and musical identity, including hits from JUDAS PRIEST, IRON MAIDEN, LED ZEPPELIN, KANSAS and many others. “The Covering” will also include “God”, a new original recording from STRYPER.

Check out the “The Covering” cover artwork below.

Commented STRYPER vocalist Michael Sweet: “The concept for ‘The Covering’ is very powerful and rings true to the power of God’s love upon our lives. God’s covering is transforming and life-changing and we thought it would be very cool to visually portray that through the new artwork. Chris at Pale Horse Design has designed a character that represents the bad, or ‘the evil’ side, if you will, in us all. The booklet, (in comic-book style) will tell a story of good conquering evil and therefore leading to the transformation of the main character.

“I received the front cover and I have to tell you that it’s modern, powerful, edgy and thought-provoking. It is awesome!

“Even though this has been a record to cause controversy and a select few to question our motives and reasons for covering the songs that we recorded, our faith and beliefs have never been more confirmed and our message is the same as it has always been. We’ll go to the grave making a bold stand for Christ and we will never deny that. At the same time, we wanted to show a different side to the band and make everyone aware of the fact that we literally ‘cut our teeth’ on this music. Our history is what it is and there’s no reason to avoid that or to say otherwise. These songs and bands have played a very important role in our own sound and musicianship and quite possibly we wouldn’t be here today if it weren’t for these bands. At the same time, we can play a cover song yet still remain faithful and present the message we’ve always presented. This record will show a whole new side to the band musically yet an even more powerful side to the band spiritually.

“I’m very proud (as we all are) to be a part of this record and a member of STRYPER. We’ve stayed true to our convictions and there are great things store for the future!”

“The Covering” track listing:

01. SWEET – “Set Me Free”
02. SCORPIONS – “Blackout”
03. BLACK SABBATH – “Heaven and Hell”
04. UFO – “Lights Out”
05. KANSAS – “Carry On Wayward Son”
06. DEEP PURPLE – “Highway Star”
07. KISS – “Shout It Out Loud”
08. OZZY OSBOURNE – “Over The Mountain”
09. IRON MAIDEN – “The Trooper”
10. JUDAS PRIEST – “Breaking The Law”
11. VAN HALEN – “On Fire”
12. LED ZEPPELIN – “Immigrant Song”
13. God

1 Comment »

  1. After taking the time to listen to all 12 available audio samples of this new album, it makes me wish I could get back 10 minutes of the 12 or 13 minutes I spent listening. If you are a die hard Styper fan, I’m sure you will enjoy this album, but if you are a fan of any of the bands covered on this CD, there are plenty of Bar Bands out there that will do just as good of a job on these covers as Styper did. I only wish there would have included a sample of “God”, the only original song on this package. Having not included it makes me think that maybe the song isn’t as strong as most of the weak covers on this disc.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: